Should Psychics Play a Role in Police Investigations?

This weekend I had the extreme pleasure of attending a writing workshop that featured a homicide detective from the Calgary Police Services.  Detective Sweet’s presentation was fascinating, graphic–turning my stomach more than once—and incredibly enlightening. I came away with so much more appreciation for what the men and women on the police force deal with every day in the name of public service. So first off, I want to say, ‘thank you’ to both the city police and the R.C.M.P.

Now, because my interests lie in the paranormal/mythological realm, I was fascinated to hear Detective Sweet talk about the volume of information that comes in from psychics. He was quick to point out that none of this information is usable because the source in non-scientific, but that it can be fascinating all the same. He went so far as to say there was one incident where the police actually considered investigating the psychic who’d contacted them for involvement in the crime because she had knowledge of the incident that only a few members of the police, the victim (deceased) and the perpetrator, had.

Interestingly enough, today in the Calgary Herald, there is an article that speaks to this issue.

Calgary psychics offer gifts to dubious police

 By Jason van Rassel, Calgary  Herald

The article talks about the fact that police are unable to use psychic evidence in court and are reluctant to listen to or follow up on psychic leads. It goes on to talk about Find Me, a U.S.-based volunteer group that uses psychics and former law-enforcement officers to help  solve homicides and missing-person cases. By the way, in checking out their website today, I see they are looking for donations, so if you are interested in such an organization, you might want to check them out.
Here’s the question…should pyschics play a role in police investigations? Should their information be admissable in court? Or, is it all a bunch of smoke and mirrors?
I’d love to hear from you!

11 thoughts on “Should Psychics Play a Role in Police Investigations?

  1. I’ve been to a lot of psychics and some are excellent and some…not so much. It would be a very expensive endeavor for CPS to try to investigate every psychic’s claims. Although Det Sweet sounds like they’ve used some of them. But I don’t think they should ever be used in court. Nope. No way. No how.

    scares the daylights out of me.

    it was a great workshop, wasn’t it?

  2. Oh, it was so good! I really wanted to hear more stories like the one where he caught all the ‘orbs’ on film. Did you read the Herald article? I thought it was very interesting and timely considering our workshop!

    Thanks for stopping by Louise!

  3. I am a medium myself, and I believe genuine psychics could be a great help to police. Especially in cold cases.. I mean what do they have to lose right? The court needs to be tangible evidence and, facts only though no psychic info.

  4. Thanks for your comment. I agree that any help to police should be utilized. I think the problem comes down to differentiating between the genuine psychics and others who might be claiming pyschic abilities for their own gain. I’m curious, have you ever aided police in any way?

  5. Yes , I agree there are many frauds that use it for self gain ,and that is a sad fact. On the flip side there are many with real abilities who could be a tremendous help.Sorting them out would be tough for the police. I have never directly aided police , however I was asked about a year ago to look at a missing mans photo. I received a tremendous amount of information including what happened to him what landscape he was in , and other little details. I knew that he would be found in three months ,and he was. Unfortunately he was no longer living ,and had passed the night he went missing. The person was in another country than I am ,so the info was passed to the police there. Whether they paid it any mind I don’t know. I would LOVE to help in missing persons cases, but most police do not take it seriously. I am a closet Medium, as I am unable to be completely open about my abilities in my everyday life. I help people in a more secretive way ,and always for free. I believe it is part of my life’s purpose to do so.

    1. Wow! That is both a terribly sad and terribly fascinating story about helping to find the missing person. Have you heard of and/or checked into the link above for the organization, Find Me? The organization works to help solve missing persons, using both psychics and former law enforcement officers. You know, I aboslutely believe in authentic mediums/clairvoyants. I’ve visited a couple myself. I’ve also seen some that were less accurate. I’ve had a few spot instances of clairvoyance myself (maybe about 4 or 5)where I received a message from someone who passed who seemed to be asking me to pass the message along to the appropriate person. I am so glad you dropped by. I thoroughly enjoy talking to you about this.

  6. Thank you very much! I had never heard of them , but I checked out their site. It seems right up my alley. It can be difficult when you pick up on things,and have no outlet to give the information to that might help someone.It sounds like you have some natural latent abilities yourself! Did you get the messages in dreams , or while you were awake? You must have a very high awareness to be able to recognize it , and pass on the message. That is awesome!! 🙂

    1. Nice to meet you.

      I have the ability of the Telepathy

      It wants to become professional with this ability in the future.

      The professional is not the meaning called a star appearing on television.

      Give me advice

  7. Nice to meet you.

    I have the ability of the tomato.

    It wants to become professional with this ability in the future.

    The professional is not the meaning called a star appearing on television.

    Give me advice

Leave a comment